BOG 2017 : Third Plenary Session Showcasing The Hebrew University's Scientific Achievements

As the facts and figures were displayed on a giant screen and Prof. Isaiah Arkin, Vice President for R&D, detailed their significance, it was clear that Hebrew University research accomplishments are an impressive indicator of academic excellence. In the past year, HUJI researchers received grants of 200 million shekels (about 50 million Euros), a large percentage from the European Research Council. In Israel, the Hebrew University received 37 percent more competitive grants than all other institutions combined.


As research comes to fruition, its power and potential is reflected in some staggering statistics. Yissum, the university’s technology transfer company, has granted more than 880 technology licenses, which have resulted in the commercialization of an array of successful products that generate over $2 billion in worldwide sales every year.

The breadth and scope of the award-winning research projects was a forecast of future accomplishments.

The Kaye Innovation Awards were established in 1993 by Isaac Kaye of Great Britain to invest in nurturing talented researchers and enabling them to remain at the Hebrew University. Recipients were:

  • Prof. Yuval Dor and Dr. Ruth Shemer of the Faculty of Medicine for their work on new methods of detecting diseases from dying cells
  • Prof. Berta Levavi-Sivan of the Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment for her examination of growth and reproduction in aquaculture
  • Prof. Amiram Goldblum of the School of Pharmacy for his innovative algorithms that lead to dramatic improvement in drug discovery methods.

The Klachky Prize for the Advancement of the Frontiers of Science was founded in 2003 by Roberto and Leopoldo Klachky of Mexico in memory of their mother Rachel, to continue her support of innovative research. The recipient was:  

  • Prof. Karim  Adiprasito of the Hebrew University Einstein Institute for Mathematics 

The Polonsky Prizes for Creativity and Originality in Humanistic Disciplines were initiated in 2005 by Dr. Leonard Polonsky of Great Britain to provide support for research in the Humanities. Recognized for their books and publications were:

  • Prof. Moshe Taube of the Department of Linguistics and the Department of German, Russian and East European Studies
  • Prof. Robert Brody of the Department of Talmud and Halacha
  • Dr. Michal Marmorstein of the Department of Linguistics
  • Bat-ami Artzi of the Department of Romance and Latin American Studies
  • Shraga Bick of the Department of Comparative Religion "



Prusiner-Abramsky Research Awards in Clinical and Basic Neuroscience were established by the Orion Foundation of Australia in honor of Nobel Laureate Prof. Stanley B. Prusiner, M.D of the University of California, San Francisco, and Prof. Oded Abramsky, M.D., Ph.D., former Chairman of the Hadassah Medical Center Department of Neurology and former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Hebrew University. Recipients were:

  • Prof. Chaya Kalcheim of Developmental Neurobiology Lab in the Edmond and Lily Safra Center for Brain Science for her work on the development of the embryonic nervous system
  • Dr. Joshua Goldberg of the Department of Medical Neurobiology in the Faculty of Medicine for his research on physiological neurodegeneration and movement disorders
  • Dr. Panayiota Petrou of the Hebrew University-Hadassah School of Medicine for her work on the impact of pomegranate seed oil on Multiple Sclerosis and Alzheimer’s disease
  • Dr. Iris Lavon Ben Moshe, Head of the  Molecular Neuro-Oncology Laboratory, at the Hadassah Medical Center’s Gaffin Center for Neuro-oncology



The Robert H. Smith Vision Prize was established by David Bruce Smith in memory of his father Robert H. Smith, namesake of the Hebrew University’s Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment. The recipient was:

  • Daria Feldman, a doctoral student in the Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology at the Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment, for her research on improving the production of biofuels.

The Sir Zelman Cowen Universities Fund Prize for Discovery in Medical Research was established in 2004 in honor of Sir Zelman Cowen, former Governor General of Australia, and is awarded in alternate years at the University of Sydney and the Hebrew University. The recipient was:

  • Dr. Yossi Buganim of the Department of Developmental Biology and Cancer Research in the Faculty of Medicine for his research and discoveries in stem cell biology. 


To see all the pictures from the Third Plenary Session Showcasing The Hebrew University's Scientific Achievements