Board of Governors 2014



European Commission President José Manuel Barroso,  Prof. Lothar Willmitzer of Germany, and Nobel laureate Daniel Kahneman were among nine distinguished figures who received honorary doctorates as over 300 Hebrew University doctoral students received their diplomas at the Hebrew University's annual Convocation.

The June 8th ceremony marked the opening of the 77th annual meeting of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem's Board of Governors, which celebrated “Hebrew University – a Leader on the Global Arena”. 

European Commission President José Manuel Barroso


Participants enjoyed tours around Jerusalem, Friday night dinner at the new Waldorf Astoria hotel, a gala opening reception in the renovated Nadine and Fredy Herrmann Forum, and meetings with international students on programs in agriculture, community development, and public health. 

Participants also took part in discussions about the BDS movement, met with HU’s newest young faculty, and enjoyed a lunch with students.  

Among those honored for their contribution to the University at the prestigious Wall of Benefactors ceremony was the Adelis Foundation


Participants in the Hebrew University Board of Governors meetings this year also enjoyed a visit to the Knesset, where they met the new President incumbent Reuven Rivlin, leader of the opposition Isaac (Buji) Herzog, as well as other members of Knesset.


The Knesset

President incumbent Reuven Rivlin with HU President, Prof. Menachem Ben Sasson